Participants’ LATTICE experience begins with a four-day retreat-like symposium focusing on career skills, self-reflection and conversations about identity (e.g. gender, race/ethnicity) and the academy. The Symposium activities will lay the foundation for deeper and ongoing support through the LATTICE peer Mentoring Circles.

Thirty early-career participants were selected for the first LATTICE symposium which was held May 18–21, 2017 at IslandWood Conference Center, outside of Seattle, WA. A copy of the symposium agenda can be found here

Symposium Features

Engagement with a cohort of 24–28 peers in engineering: Each symposium includes a cohort of 24–28 early-career engineers. Participants will be surrounded by other women engineering Ph.D.s interested in faculty careers.

Mentorship and networking with senior panelists: Each symposium will include a group of 12–15 senior engineers and faculty to offer both formal and informal opportunities for mentorship and networking, including diverse perspectives on developing successful careers.

Professional development workshop sessions: Numerous workshops and panels that center around early academic career development, including topics such as teaching, proposal writing and funding, mentoring, and tenure proposals.

Symposium Panelists

  • Dr. Soha Hassoun, Professor of Computer Science at Tufts University
  • Dr. Shelly Heller, Associate Provost of Academic Affairs, Mount Vernon Campus, and Professor of Computer Science at The George Washington University
  • Dr. Rashaunda Henderson, Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering at The University of Texas at Dallas
  • Dr. Julie Ivy, Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering and Fitts Faculty Fellow in Health Systems Engineering at North Carolina State University
  • Dr. Shalinee Kishore, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Lehigh University
  • Christopher Loving, Founder, Leadership Institute for Tomorrow and Loving Leadership, Inc.
  • Dr. Theresa Maldonado, Senior Vice President for Research, Innovation, & Economic Development, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
  • Dr. Athina Petropulu, Chair and Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Rutgers University
  • Dr. Suneeta Ramaswami, Professor of Computer Science at Rutgers University 
  • Dr. Eve Riskin, Associate Dean of Diversity and Access in the College of Engineering, Faculty Director of the ADVANCE Center for Institutional Change, and Professor of Electrical Engineering at the University of Washington
  • Dr. Roshanak Roshandel, Associate Professor of Computer Science and Software Engineering at Seattle University
  • Dr. Tammy VanDeGrift, Associate Professor of Computer Science at the University of Portland
  • Dr. Katie Wilson, Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering at Santa Clara University