Kellye Testy, Dean and James W. Mifflin University Professor, School of Law, University of Washington

Wednesday, January 13, 2010 - 12:15pm to 1:30pm
Kellye Testy
Dean and James W. Mifflin University Professor, School of Law
University of Washington

Kellye Testy is the first woman to join the distinguished group of permanent law school deans at the University of Washington. A prolific scholar, outstanding teacher, and experienced dean, Testy came to the UW in 2009. Her research and scholarship focus on contracts, corporate governance, business entities, securities regulation, gender and law, and economic justice. She is known throughout academic and legal communities for her dedication to the rule of law and its commitment to justice and equality.

Dean Testy graduated summa cum laude from the University of Indiana School of Law where she was editor-in-chief of the Indiana Law Journal, John H. Edwards University Fellow, Chancellor's Scholar, and member of the Order of the Coif. During law school, she worked for Kirkland & Ellis in Chicago, and after graduation, she clerked for Judge Jesse E. Eschbach, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit. At the end of her clerkship in 1992, she began her academic career. She joined the faculty of Seattle University Law School and became its dean in 2005.

In 2007, Dean Testy has been honored with the President's Award from the Washington State Bar Association and the President's Award from the Washington Women Lawyers. The previous year, she received the President's Award from King County Women Lawyers and the Washington State Trial Lawyers Public Justice Award. She has received the Seattle University School of Law Outstanding Teacher Award three times.

Dean Testy is currently writing a casebook on corporate law and governance and a book on leadership. She serves on the American Association of Law Schools Committee on Recruitment & Retention of Minority Faculty, the American Bar Association Committee on Development and Committee on Curriculum, and the Board of Governors of the Society of American Law Teachers, the Board of the American Law Dean's Association, and the Law School Admissions Council's Diversity Committee.