Advisory Board

The BRAINS Advisory Board includes 11 individuals who have a wide range of expertise ranging from neuroscience faculty to programmatic and diversity in science and engineering experts to faculty of color experts. Members have a history of supporting and advocating for diversity, offering perspectives on challenges of transitioning from postdoctoral scholars to independent academic faculty, and have varied stories of career success. The National Advisory Board provides guidance to the BRAINS program in areas such as participant recruitment, Symposium topics, and panelists, relevant social science research, program evaluation outcomes. Current members include:

  • Mariko Chang, Ph.D.
    Mariko Chang Consulting, Inc.
  • Ann Etgen, Ph.D.
    Professor Emerita
    Albert Einstein College of Medicine Yeshiva University
  • Stephanie Fryberg, Ph.D.
    Associate Professor, Psychology & American Indian Studies
    University of Washington
  • Fay Guarraci, Ph.D.
    Professor, Psychology
    Southwestern University
  • Kelly Mack, Ph.D.
    Executive Director, Project Kaleidascope
    Vice President, Undergraduate STEM Education
    Association of American Colleges & Universities
  • Joe Martinez, Ph.D.
    Professor, Psychology
    University of Illinois - Chicago
  • Kenneth Maynard, Ph.D.
    Portfolio Strategy and Partnering
    Takeda Pharmaceutical International, Inc
  • Richard McGee, Ph.D.
    Associate Dean, Faculty Recruitment & Professional Development
    Professor, Medical Education
    Northwestern University
  • Kathie Olsen, Ph.D.
    ScienceWorks International. LLC /li>
  • Laureen Summers
    Project Director, Entry Point!
  • Keith Trujillo, Ph.D.
    Professor, Psychology
    Director, Office for Training, Research & Education
    California State University San Marcos

Prior Board Members